December 1, 2017

CIAM holds first Asia-Pacific Region General Assembly in Tokyo, supports APMA Tokyo Declaration

Ryohei Miyata, commissioner of the Agency for Cultural Affairs

Michio Asaishi, President of JASRAC

Gadi Oron, Director General of CISAC

On November 7 and 8, 2017, the first International Council of Music Creators (CIAM) General Assembly meeting to be held in the Asia-Pacific region took place at the Hilton Tokyo hotel, with over 60 music creators from around the world in attendance.


Ryohei Miyata, commissioner of the Agency for Cultural Affairs of the Japanese government greeted the participants with a welcome address.


Executive elections held during the meeting saw Music Creators North America (MCNA) Co-Chair Eddie Schwartz elected as president of CIAM, as well as the eight members of the executive committee.  Australasian Performing Right Association Limited (APRA) Board member and APMA Vice-Chairman Brendan Gallagher was newly elected as a CIAM executive committee member from the Asia-Pacific region, joining APMA Chairman Shunichi Tokura to increase the Asia-Pacific presence in CIAM activities.  Former CIAM President Lorenzo Ferrero was appointed honorary president.


The General Assembly agenda included the current state of the Transfer of Value issue, which CISAC has been campaigning for vehemently, as well as an introduction to blackchain and other state of the art technologies, with many members of the audience participating in the lively discussion.


The Tokyo Declaration adopted during the APMA General Assembly was reported on during the CIAM General Assembly, gaining the support of the all participants.


On the evening of November 7, JASRAC hosted a welcome reception for the participants and guests, where Shunichi Tokura and Minister of Culture, Education, Sports, Science and Technology Yoshimasa Hayashi addressed the attendees, and a ceremony was held in which Lorenzo Ferrero passed the baton to his successor Eddie Schwartz.

Rorenzo Ferrero and Eddie Schwartz

Eddie Schwartz, New President of CIAM

Yoshimasa Hayashi, Minister of Culture, Education, Sports, Science and Technology

Shunichi Tokura, Chairperson of APMA